Postgraduate Studies

Postgraduate Studies Programme
"Master of Arts in the Science of Translation"

The Postgraduate Studies Programme "Master of Arts in the Science of Translation" was founded in 1998 and has since been restructured (academic year 2010-2011) to fully conform to the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) and (academic year 2014-2015) to better meet the demands of today's market.

The purpose of the newly restructured Postgraduate Studies Programme is to offer specialized knowledge in the field of Theory, Didactics and Practice of Translation, in new technologies in translation, in the scientific fields of Specialized Translation (Economic, Legal, Political and Scientific Texts) and in Literary Translation, so as to provide students with specialized knowledge in translation. The working languages are Greek and English mostly, with references being made to French and German.

Postgraduate Studies Programme "Master of Arts in the Science of Translation" Handbook [see bottom of page]

Administrative Organisation

Programme Committee
Director: Panagiotis Kelandrias
Deputy Director: Nicolas Papadimitriou
Members: Anastasia Parianou, Vilelmini Sosoni, Maria Tsigou


Address: Tsirigoti Sq. (Old Psychiatric Hospital), Hippocrates Building, 49100 Corfu
Head of Secretariat: E. Politi
Tel.: (+30) 26610 87904, (+30) 694 635 8982
e-mail: and

Awarded postgraduate diplomas

The Postgraduate Programme "Master of Arts in the Science of Translation" awards the following diplomas:

  1. Master of Arts (MA) in the field of Translation Science.
  2. PhD in the field of Translation Science with two possible streams:
    • Theory, Practice and Didactics of Translation
    • Theory, Practice and Didactics of Interpreting

Structure and Duration of Studies

The new programme covers three (3) semesters and comprises two (2) semesters of compulsory attendance of postgraduate modules and one semester for completing a postgraduate dissertation. In accordance with the programme of studies, students are required to acquire ninety (90) ECTS in total (30 in the 1st semester, 30 in the 2nd semester and 30 awarded for completing a postgraduate dissertation).

The programme modules offered during the first two (2) consecutive semesters are divided into:

  • Core modules (one (1) for each semester) which are compulsory for all students, and
  • Elective modules from which students must choose at will two (2) for each semester.

The duration of each semester is ten (10) weeks. Each lesson, regardless of level, is two hours per week. ECTS are awarded upon successful completion of each module (written exam or assignment or both).

The Master Thesis is completed in the third semester.

Eligible candidates and admission criteria

University graduates and Technological Educational Institutions (TEI) graduates from any discipline and from any home or foreign institution are eligible to apply. Translators from international organizations or foreign government agencies are also eligible applicants subject to special agreements.

Up to twenty (20) places are offered each academic year to graduate students.

A call for applications to the admission tests for one or both Streams of the Postgraduate Translation Programme is published in the daily press. The call can also be found on the Department website, while it is also sent to the liaison offices or relevant departments of Greek Universities.

Call for the academic year 2020-2021 [bottom of the page, in Greek]


1st Semester

Compulsory module: Theory and Methodology of Translation (10 ECTS)

Elective Modules (2 out of 6):

  • Didactics of Translation (10 ECTS)
  • Audio-Visual Translation (10 ECTS)
  • Management of translation work (10 ECTS)
  • Legal Translation (10 ECTS)
  • Philosophy and Methodology of Sciences (10 ECTS)
  • Literary Translation Criticism (10 ECTS)

2nd Semester

Compulsory module: Μεταφραστικά εργαλεία (10 ECTS)

Elective Modules (2 out of 6):

  • Political Translation and translation of EU texts (10 ECTS)
  • Translation of texts on international politics (10 ECTS)
  • Translation of scientific texts (10 ECTS)
  • Translation of texts on art and culture (10 ECTS)
  • Intralingual Translation (10 ECTS)
  • Linguistics and Translation (10 ECTS)

The Department of Foreign Languages, Translation and Interpreting has been granted free access to the Memsource Academic Edition, an academic program designed for universities with translation courses.


The Department of Foreign Languages, Translation and Interpreting is a member of the SDL Technologies University Partnership Program.


Teaching Staff

  • Yorgos Kentrotis, Professor, Professional Translator
  • Panayotis Kelandrias , Professor, Professional Translator
  • Ioannis Lazaratos, Professor
  • Anastasia Parianou, Professor, Professional Translator
  • Nicolas Papadimitriou, Associate Professor
  • Maria Tsigou, Assistant Professor
  • Sotirios Livas, Associate Professor
  • Katia Kermanidou, Assistant Professor, Department of Informatics, Ionian University
  • Vilelmini Sosoni, Assistant Professor, Professional Translator
  • Vassilis Letsios, Assistant Professor
  • Sotirios Keramidas, Assistant Professor, Professional Translator

The international dimension of the MA Programme

The Postgraduate Studies Programme "Master of Arts in the Science of Translation":

  • Organizes international conferences (e.g. the 33rd International Conference on Functional Linguistics co-organized with the International Society of Functional Linguistics (SILF) from 11 to 16 October 2010 in Corfu).
  • Cooperates with foreign Universities and each year, depending on available financial resources, invites internationally renowned academics from Europe and beyond, who offer lectures and seminars and share their expertise with students and staff.
  • Invites eminent Greek professionals to deliver seminars.

At the PhD level, there are four Special Cooperation Protocols for doctoral dissertations through co-supervision with the following universities: University of Sorbonne -Paris IV, University of Rennes, University of Montpellier, the University of Caen, the University of Nantes and the University of Seville.